How much does a DUI Attorney Cost in Florida
A DUI (Driving Under Influence) charge is a fairly common criminal charge. The legal costs that the defendant has to put up with varies. This article will cover the essential details you might be looking for. The standard route to take is to get an attorney to cover for you, and assist you through the formal procedures involved in the DUI offense.
The cost involved largely depends on the nature of the case and the details associated with the charge. Hiring an attorney will comprise a large portion of the total cost of DUI Attorney Cost in Florida that will be spent on a DUI. The fees for hiring an attorney differs as per the experience level of the attorney, and the particulars of the case itself. Some important points need to be addressed before we proceed further.
What really Constitutes Drunk Driving?
As defined by the state of Florida, drunk driving or driving under the influence (DUI) is: to be physically in control of a vehicle while the person in control of the vehicle is under the influence of drugs or alcohol to the point of being physically impaired to effectively control the vehicle. Here, being physically impaired refers to having less than the desired functioning of the so-called sensory faculties, as well as mental readiness. That is, the ability to see, hear, walk, balance, talk, and perform the basic mental and physical tasks associated with a healthy person in a state of sobriety.
Any person whose blood alcohol content (BAC) is above the legal limit of 0.08 can also be said to be driving under the influence.
What methods does Law enforcement use to determine if someone is liable for a DUI charge?
Officers can use several tests to determine your BAC (Blood Alcohol Content). The most common method for BAC analysis is the Breathalyzer test. Other methods, however, do exist and can be employed.
What is the Cost of Penalties and Fines involved with a DUI case in West Palm Beach, Florida?
The penalty for DUI depends on, among other things, the number of instances of previous DUI convictions.
For the first time offense, the penalty can be as much as $1000, and a jail term of up to 6 months may also be awarded. License is suspended for at least 6 months, and the convicted person is mandated to undertake DUI diversion classes. The vehicle, too, maybe impounded for 10 days.
In cases of repeated DUI offense, the punishment gets server, and the terms of punishment increase manifold.
What is the actual Attorney Cost for DUI in West Palm Beach?
As stated earlier, the cost for an attorney in DUI cases depends on the level of expertise of the attorney and the time the attorney will have to spend on the case. The actual cost, therefore, cannot be ascertained in exact figures. Suffice it to say that, on average, a DUI attorney in West Palm Beach may cost around $1500 or more for a first time DUI offense. The cost of DUI Attorney Cost in Florida mentioned is bound to rise significantly in the case of repeated DUI offense.